British Ceylon Paper Money
Sterling 1825 - 1855

With the Order in Council of 1825 March 23, Britain introduced Sterling currency into all the Colonies, the local Government issued Regulation 8 of 1825 ordaining that public accounts should be kept in pounds, shillings, and pence. Regulation 8 of 1827 enacted that Government notes expressed in pounds payable in the currency of the Island "shall pass current at 20 shillings sterling" and a new paper currency to the extent of £ 90,000 was issued under this Regulation, expressed in terms of sterling money, the denominations being £  1, 2, 5, 10, 20, 25, and 50.

These notes were payable at the Treasury in specie on demand; but the holders were not allowed the right given to the holders of the old inconvertible rix dollar paper of exchanging them for bills on London at the rate fixed by the Government. The note circulation on 1830 September 1, amounted to £ 110,858.

Virginia Hewitt of British Museum in article says that she is not aware of any surviving issued notes of this series, several unissuied examples and proofs indicate what they would have been like. The British Museum does not have any specimen of this series.

The next series of treasury notes was introduced in 1850 and were printed by Perkins Bacon & Petch, a London engraving and printing firm started by Jacob Perkins. Pound Sterling 1 2 and 5 with watermarks and value in Sinhala and Thamil Text were issued. This series was withdrawn as from 1856 January 1st.

A Large number of 1850 unsigned remainder notes are available in the numismtic market.

Text from
* Ceylon Coins and Currency By H. W. Codrington. Colombo 1924
  Chapter X British - Page 124, 144