The Government of Ceylon : 1894 - 1925
Uniface Ten Rupee Note

The Uniface large size Ten Rupees currency note issued by the Board of Commissioners of Currency with the standard colonial format front used by The Governmaent of Ceylon. This Type has 13 known dates with 9 Signature pairs between 1894 to 1925. There could be unknown dates before 1909

The Notes are 191 by 127 mm i.e. 7 1/2 by 5 inches.
Printed by Thomas De La Rue & Co., London
Water-mark: A Large TEN RUPEES in 2 lines light on dark at center. A vertical triple ZigZag lines to right, and light Elephant and Dagaba logo to the upper left . Text THE GOVERNMENT OF CEYLON light on dark panel centered below. Handmade paper manufactured by Messrs Portals

Front : Black and Green on White paper with huge TEN at center background. THE GOVERNMENT OF CEYLON centered on top above Promises to pay the Bearer on Demand the Sum of. In a 6-inch bar the value in words TEN RUPEES with Micro printing of same around. On either side, a numeric 10 with RUPEES in an arc below, within a circle. Just below the value රුපියල් දහයයි in Sinhala Text to left and Text in Tamil on right. The Black Serial number above and below on both left and right, with Colombo, date: day Month Year, centered below. In panel in two lines FOR THE GOVERNMENT OF CEYLON with Micro printing of same around at bottom left. Two facsimile signatures at right and COMMISSIONERS OF CURRENCY. below. Printer name THOS.DE LA RUE & CO LONDON. at bottom left.
Back : Blank

Date on BankNoteSignatures of
Commissioners of Currency
Range of Serial #Mintage
in K
1st January, 1894 E. Noel Walker & F. R. Saunders B/?? ??001 - B/? ??000
1st September, 1894 E. Noel Walker & F. R. Saunders B/?? ??001 - B/? ??000
18th May, 1908 H. Clifford & Bernard Senior B/?? ??001 - B/30 75000
20th January 1913 R.E. Stubbs & Bernard Senior B/30 75001 - B/33 25000 250
20th January 1913 R.E. Stubbs & Bernard Senior B/33 25001 - B/35 75000 250
1st April 1914 R.E. Stubbs & Bernard Senior B/35 75001 - B/38 25000 250

Date on BankNoteSignatures of
Commissioners of Currency
Range of Serial #Mintage
in K
1st April 1915 R.E. Stubbs & Bernard Senior B/38 25001 - B/40 75000 250
15th May 1919 A.S. Pagden & Bernard Senior A/40 75001 - A/45 75000 500
8th December 1919 Graeme Thomson & Bernard Senior B/45 75001 - B/51 75000 600
1st October 1921 Graeme Thomson & Bernard Senior B/51 75001 - B/56 75000 500
1st September 1922 B. Horsburgh & W.W. Woods B/56 75001 - B/64 25000 750
1st September 1923 C. Clementi & F.J. Smith B/64 25001 - B/65 25000 100
1st October 1924 C. Clementi & W.W. Woods B/65 25001 - B/69 46000 421
1st October 1925 C. Clementi & W.W. Woods B/69 46001 - B/73 46000 400
1st October 1925 E.B. Alexander & W.W. Woods B/73 46001 - B/84 16000 1070

Currency notes from 1913 starting with serial number B/33 25001 had secret marks

The notes were demonetized with all notes dated before January 1, 1940 on 1946 April 13th and ceased to be legal tender with effect July 31, 1946.

The details of this issue are from Sri Lanka Currency of Recent Times 1938-1985 T. M. U. Sallay, 1986 Colombo:Central Bank of Sri Lanka.

The 60 dpi image is from a Spink Auction Listing and displayed at 50 dpi.
If you have this note, I would be grateful to get a 300 dpi scan which will be posted with desired acknowledgement.

Sallay says Serial Number is Blue, but it looks Dark Green in Auction listing.